“Redux II” – Season 5 Ep. 2

Redux II - Episode 99. Such an emotional episode. I tried to make this a true companion piece to my Redux I poster. 

Scully: I fight and I fight and I fight… But I’m so stupid. I’ve come so far in my life on simple faith, and now when I need it the most I just push it away. I mean, why … why do I wear this [cross]? Why do I wear this, Mom? I put something that I don’t even know or understand under the skin of my neck.

Written by: Chris Carter
Directed by: Kim Manners
Original Air Date: November 9th, 1997
Principal Setting: Washington, D.C.
Episode Summary:

With Scully in the hospital fighting for her life, the FBI learn that Mulder is still alive and search to find the truth why he faked his own death. The Syndicate want to get rid of Mulder once and for all, but the Cigarette Smoking Man continues to urge them he is more valuable alive than dead. He points Mulder in the right direction to a cure for Scully’s cancer and suffers the ramifications for doing so. He reveals to Mulder that the alien conspiracy is very real and he can prove it to him. The lack of trust makes Mulder dismiss CSM’s proof, even when CSM sweetens the pot by letting him see his sister (Is it really her? It’s CSM we’re dealing with. Of course not). Mulder appears before the FBI committee and is forced to identify the mole within the FBI, which causes an uproar in the FBI hierarchy.

Personal Commentary:

So much is revealed in this episode, but once again we’re left to sift through the lies from the truth. I liked how it leaves it open ended on if it was CSM’s cure or Scully’s rediscovered faith that caused her cancer to go into remission.

Also, are we in for a Darth Vader moment where CSM reveals to Mulder that he is his father? I believe it to just be a ploy to earn Mulder’s trust to let him see his sister, the he will quickly his hopes and kick him while he’s vulnerable.

One of the great aspects about this show is displayed superbly in this episode. There is never one side that is good and one side evil. You don’t know who to trust, and your heart feels like it can finally put a little trust in CSM as he lets Mulder see his sister. Although, your mind is telling you this is just a trick to play with Mulder’s vulnerability just like he’s done the last four years.

Episode Grade: A
Favorite Scene:
Fun Facts:
  • Chris Carter named the company after USA Today TV critic Matt Roush, who was an influential early champion of The X-Files.
Faces You May Recognize:

Same peeps as last episode.

Leave a comment